Saturday, 19. May 2012

Willie Nelson: 'If we made marijuana legal, we'd save a whole lotta money and lives'


The veteran musician on God, politics, his favourite singer and why weed should be decriminalised

What were the songs that made you realise you wanted to be a musician?

When I first started out, I sang a lot in church. Amazing Grace was the first song that I can remember ever singing. Gospel was probably the main kind of music I was into. Then I got into Bob Wills (1) and Hank Williams and Frank Sinatra and Louis Armstrong, all those great singers. Ray Charles came along – I loved him. Ray Price. The greatest singer there is, I think, is Ray Price (2).

Sinatra was a big hero of yours, of course.

Yes, he was. Still is. He is my favourite singer. And I read somewhere that I was his favourite singer, so that really made me happy.

There's no better compliment than that …

That was the big one.

guardian.co.uk

... Comment