Thursday, 6. October 2011

RIP Steve Jobs 1955-2011


Today I was in my living room playing with my son when on the TV news they announced Steve Jobs had passed away. I was shocked, I mean I knew he was ill, problems in the past with cancer. Didn’t he just step down as CEO yesterday? This can’t be true. I opened twitter on my iPhone and sure enough, there was the internet’s raw outpouring of emotion over a man who truly touched all of our lives.

I wrote my first lines of code on an apple, I don’t remember what it was called. Monochrome green monitor, big ol CPU with the keyboard integrated. I was in 6th grade at the time, and my math teacher taught me BASIC after class. We saved our cool role playing games onto 5 1/4″ floppies. Soon afterwards my grandmother got a Mac Classic, you know the one with the super tiny black and white screen? It had 3 1/2 inch floppies and was the bomb. I sort of broke up with Apple soon after, when I got my first 486 with Windows 3.1. It was all PC/Windows/Linux until a few years ago.

zeropaid.com

... Comment